Student of the Week- Cameron Kiani

On Thursday night, I met up with Cameron Kiani at his humble abode in Fisher Hassenfeld College House to talk with him about his taste in music, his involvement in Penn publications, and more.  He’s a super neat guy with a side passion for making stencils.  He uses an Exact-o knife, spray paint, and a good old white t-shirt to make some pretty awesome shirts.  I’ve already decided to buy one with a wolf stencil!  Check out the interview I had with him.

1.)  What are you studying at Penn and why?

Right now I’m pre-med but undecided on a major.  I’m interested in cognitive psychology and hope to one day be a psychiatrist, but who knows.  I’m also taking Persian, as I’m Iranian and Afghan, which has been an amazing experience.  I have plans to visit Tehran this summer.

 2.)  We hear that you are a big part of the Synapse publication here on campus.  Can you tell us a little bit about how you got involved in that/what got you interested?

 I liked how Synapse didn’t publish run-of-the-mill research articles but covered bigger topics ranging from health policy changes to novel cancer treatments in a way that is comprehendible to almost anyone.  I applied to be an editor and ended up getting an executive editor position, which I was ecstatic about.  Our Fall issue is coming out soon, so definitely pick that up, and anyone with an interest in medicine or health policy should consider writing for our Spring issue.

3.)  What was the last song you listened to?

Calgary by Bon Iver

 4.)  If your life was a reality TV show, what would it be called?

 Camera on Kiani 

 5.)  What was the your most awkward moment at Penn so far?

I can’t think of a specific moment but I have terrible hearing so it’s impossible for me to understand people who try to have conversations with me at frat parties.  I usually just laugh and nod awkwardly because I have no idea what the person is saying half the time.

 6.)  Any last words?

Swag.

CONGRATS CAMERON!  We had an awesome time interviewing you for the SOTW, and I can’t wait to buy my shirt!

NOMINATE YOUR SOTW-WORTHY FRIENDS HERE: marlie@sas.upenn.edu

This entry was posted in Marlie, Student of the Week, The Fish Tank and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

