A “Thank You” Dinner

“Committed to making its practical, powerful, and flexible Ivy League education available to the most talented and hardworking students, regardless of their economic circumstances”, Penn spends approximately $160 million dollars a year in student aid annually. Last week, the Department of Development for Undergraduate Financial Aid hosted a named scholarship dinner in which student scholarship recipients were able to meet with their scholarship donors.

A recipient of two named scholarships, I was invited to the dinner. I was so excited to meet with my donors because if it weren’t for their generosity and commitment, I wouldn’t be able to attend Penn. Speaking to one of my donors, a Wharton graduate, I loved hearing his stories about his time here. Even though there was a clear age difference between the current Penn students and the donors, we all shared the important common trait of attending Penn.

The room was filled with upperclassmen and lowerclassmen, first generation students, male and females, athletes and non-athletes, and the list goes on and on. Several other Fisher Hassenfelders were also in attendance!

Class of ‘ 28 resident Gabrielle Frederick said “It was so encouraging to see that there are people out there who are willing to give their time an support on my behalf. It reminded me why I’m here, and what my education at Penn can do for someone else.”

Baldwin resident Erich Kessel said, “ I really enjoyed the scholarship reception, It gave me a chance to meet the person whole helped make my Penn education possible. It was a way to show gratitude in a really social setting which I appreciated.”

McKean resident Samina Hydery said, “I appreciate how Penn gave us the opportunity to thank our donors for their generosity in person. It was great to finally put a face to the name, and my donor and I have been keeping in touch.”

President Amy Gutmann was in attendance and spoke of the integral part that financial aid plays in allowing Penn to be the thriving, diverse institution that it is today and deemed the night a celebration of both the donors and the recipients.

It was great night filled with delicious food, great conversation, and a whirlwind of generosity and thankfulness.

This entry was posted in Rolanda and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

