Movie to Watch: Friends with Kids

Whenever I have free time, which doesn’t seem to be often, I get really excited. Free time means I have the liberty to do ANYTHING. After my grueling week of exams, I decided to reward myself with a much-needed break. To relax, I decided to watch a movie – I love watching movies! It allows me to get lost in that newly created world and to forget about any worries or responsibilities that I have in the “real world.” When I’m able to let go in that way, I know that the director, screenwriter, actors and actresses, etc. did a job well done!

devil wears prada

something borrowed

I have a habit of re-watching movies I’ve already seen numerous times…sometimes to the point where I’ve memorized the lines (think Miranda Priestly’s ‘Cerulean’ monologue in the Devil Wears Prada) or even choreography (think Darcy & Rachel’s rendition of Salt N Pepa’s “Push It” in Something Borrowed). Feeling adventurous, I opted for a film that I had never seen before: Friends with Kids. I will admit, however, that I was excited about the movie due to two movies I’ve already seen. Friends with Kids reunites 4 of the cast members from the Bridesmaids, one of my favorite movies (FH even voted to watch it at the sleepout last semester). Secondly, the movie’s title references the movie Friends with Benefits, another one of my favorite movies (who couldn’t love Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis?).

friends with kids

Friends with Kids asks all the right questions about love, happiness, relationships, marriage, and children. I feel like marriage is often coupled with starting a family, but this isn’t necessarily true. But rarely is the idea of intentionally having kids without getting married explored in film.  In this movie, Julie (Jennifer Westfeldt) and Jason (Adam Scott) decide to have kid without getting married in order to skip the complications they think that marriage causes (due to the observation of the deteriorating relationships of their friends). The catch is that Julie and Jason aren’t in love, but as the title suggests, simply friends. The movie chronicles their relationship with each other, their newborn child, as well as their romantic relationships with others.

SPOILER ALERT (or maybe not? is it too predictable?): In the end, Jason and Julie do end up together. While the idea of marriage is never brought up again, the idea is that their 19-year friendship does turn romantic while also leaving viewers with the idea that they will continue to create a family.

I would definitely recommend this movie for anyone who would like a good laugh, as it’s most definitely funny! I also love the way the movie redefines ‘family.’ It even made me ponder my thoughts on marriage and its real purpose as well as societal pressure for a woman to have kids (Julie opts for this because she feels she’s getting old).

Maybe the age-old saying… “First comes love, then comes marriage, then comes the baby in the baby carriage” needs to be rewritten?

Why-Young-Moms-Arent-Getting-Married

This entry was posted in Rolanda, Student of the Week and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

