How’d it Get so Late so Soon? – Dr. Seuss

Yesterday was officially the last day of classes, putting an end to our freshman year. To be honest, I can’t believe that time has gone by so quickly. Before I know it, I’ll be back at my high school, in June, seeing my senior friends graduate-seeing them walk the very same steps that I did a year ago.

I’ve done a lot of thinking over the course of the past couple of days and have come to the conclusion, that while freshman year was a big challenge both academically and socially (and physically… freshman 15, anyone? Why cant half of my clothes fit?), I actually really enjoyed freshman year. I’ve created so many incredible memories with incredible people. I’ve gained friendships, lost friendships, and even have brand-new day-old friendships that I’m beyond excited to see grow. I’ve heard incredible leaders, businesswomen, Grammy-award winning artists, and the likes speak and inspire. I’ve watched movies until 2am with friends, ordered insomnia at midnight and ordered pizza and milkshakes at 3am with my hall mates. I’ve sat in my friends’ room talking for hours when I really should have been working on my writing seminar portfolio. I’ve laid out in the Quad on those days with picture perfect weather, the perfect teaser for summer. I’ve been stuck in my room for two days after having been sick yet have so many friends come to bring me food, orange juice, and even cough drops.

Seeing so many prospective students during Penn Preview Days and Scholars Preview or even sometimes on my walk back to the Quad at 2am from the library or on Saturday when the chimes ring Penn’s song (HURRAH HURRAH.), I remind myself that I’m living my dream. This is where I wanted to be, and now I’m here, living it and doing it. And I have to enjoy EVERY minute of it, because before I know it’ll be gone. Which brings me back to: how is freshman year over?

Ben Franklin statue

My RA Ramie is offering our hall some time to sit down and reflect on the year–“Reflect with Ramie.” Even if you’re RA isn’t doing this exercise, I really think everyone should. Sit down and think about what worked, what didn’t work, what you loved, what you hope to change, and what you learned. I really think this can set the groundwork for an even more incredible year next year.

Good luck studying for exams. Just one more push and we can make it through! Make sure to take a study break and check out all the cool reading day activities!

Happy Studying!

This entry was posted in Campus Resources, FH Events, Rolanda, The Fish Tank and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

